homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesguernsey and alderney > this page

Alderney 2012 Jubillee Public Holiday Approved

Source: States of Alderney (British Channel Islands)
Posted: Thursday, November 17, 2011
Most recent follow-up news item: November 12, 2020

The chairman of Alderney's Policy and Finance Committee, John Beaman, has announced that the States of Alderney (the Alderney government) had approved the declaration of an additional public holiday next year to mark the Queen's Diamond Jubilee.

The aforementioned proposal (2011-11-07) had been to move the 2012 late May bank holiday to Monday, June 4, and to grant an additional non-working public holiday on Tuesday, June 5, 2012, and was debated at the States of Alderney meeting of yesterday, November 16, 2011.

Last summer (2011-07-29), the States of Guernsey had approved a prior proposal (2011-06-19) to declare Monday, June 5, 2012, as a one-off public holiday to commemorate Queen Elisabeth's Diamond Jubilee.

Currently, the following countries have also declared a one-off public holiday to commemorate the royal diamond jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II's accession to the throne: the UK (2009-12-27), the Isle of Man (2010-09-10), Jersey (2010-09-29), the Cayman Islands (2011-08-31), the Falkland Islands (2011-10-09), Gibraltar (2011-10-19), and the Australian State of Queensland (2011-11-05).

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Alderney 2012 Jubillee Public Holiday Approved" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.