homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesmauritius > this page

Mauritius 2015 Public Holidays Announced

Source: Prime Minister's Office (Port-Louis)
Posted on Saturday, July 26, 2014

The Cabinet of the Government of Mauritius has released its approved annual list of the official non-working public holidays in Mauritius for the upcoming calendar year 2015.

Once again (2013-06-14, 2012-06-02 and 2011-09-14), the aforementioned communiqué does not include any new public holidays, as it did a decade ago (2001-07-26), but it does confirm the often elusive dates for Thaipoosam Cavadee, Maha Shivaratree, Ougadi, Ganesh Chaturthi, Eid-Ul-Fitr, and Divali.

In particular, based on the dates announced for the Mauritius Divali public holiday in some recent years (2013-06-14, 2012-06-02, 2007-07-16, 2006-06-19, 2004-04-26 and 2002-09-30), it appears clearly that the Government of Mauritius is using the northern Indian method of calculating Diwali, rather than the southern Indian method of calculating Deepavali, used by almost all non-Indian governments where Diwali/Deepavali is an official national non-working public holiday.

Contrary to what happened 3 years ago (2011-09-14), the date announced for the Eid-Ul-Fitr (End of Ramadan) seems correct.

Related links, news and updates