homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesnepal > this page

Nepalese 2016-2017 Public Holidays Gazetted

Source: Nepalese Ministry of Home Affairs (Kathmandu)
Posted on Saturday, April 2, 2016

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MoHA) of the government of Nepal has gazetted its annual list of official non-working public holidays in Nepal for the Nepalese year B.S. 2073 (April 2016-April 2017), a list which contains 52 public holidays, in addition to Saturdays.

As per custom, the aforementioned publication of the annual list of non-working public holidays in Nepal for B.S. 2073 (April 2016-April 2017), follows quite closely the list of annual non-working public holidays in Nepal, as announced in previous years (2015-03-03, 2014-03-02, 2013-04-24, 2012-03-29 and 2012-01-30), though some changes are noteworthy, such as the replacement of the Loktantra Diwas (Democracy Day) Nepalese public holiday, added a decade ago (2007-04-16), and now to be replaced by an annual observance of a Constitution Day Nepalese public holiday, which had been declared a one-off public holiday in Nepal last year (2015-09-16).

In addition, the annual Nepalese public holiday for Christmas, added almost a decade ago (2008-03-07 and 2007-12-28), has now been retrograded to a public holiday limited to public servants of the Christian faith.

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Nepalese 2016-2017 Public Holidays Gazetted" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.