Background on Muslim Times of the Day

Navigation:  Appendices >

Background on Muslim Times of the Day

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

There are six Muslim times of the day. The table below lists them with their corresponding astronomical equivalent, and links to a more detailed discussion of certain times that do not follow astronomical convention, or which depend on the interpretation of different Fiqh (jurisprudence).



Dawn. The depression angle used to calculate Fajr depends on the religious school. The time of Fajr marks the limit time for Sahur, the pre-dawn meal which must be eaten between midnight and dawn, and which is particularly important during times of fasting, such as the month of Ramadan).




Noon, as understood by the midpoint between sunrise and sunset (not necessarily 12:00 exactly).


Afternoon as determined by the length of the shadow of any vertical object. There are 2 possible interpretations.


Sunset. Although the definition of Maghrib matches that of the astronomical sunset, there is wide ranging discussion about what safety times to add to the astronomical sunset to take effects such as humidity and distance from the observation point into effect, to ensure that Maghrib prayer is not said before the true sunset.


Dusk. The depression angle used to calculate Isha dependson the religious school.


Note that for latitudes above 48 degrees (roughly the USA-Canada border), there are times of the year when Fajr and Isha do not occur. This happens in the middle of the summer and is due to the fact that most Fiqh use very high depression angles (16-19 degrees). Q++Studio provides options to follow any of the widely accepted rules governing prayer times at high latitudes.


See also: Religious Options.

Topic updated on 25-Jan-2019.
Topic URL: