homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesmacau > this page

Macau Decrees Annual Public Holidays List

Source: Imprensa Oficial de Macau (Macau)
Posted: Tuesday, April 15, 1997
Most recent follow-up news item: December 1, 1998

The administrative government of Macau has issued a decree (Portaria n.º 85/97/M) which completes the recently-passed Decreto-Lei n.º 7/97/M and which stipulates the list of annual non-working public holidays in Macau.

Last month (1997-03-18), the administrative government of Macau has passed the Decreto-Lei n.º 7/97/M which introduced the concept of bridge holidays (tolerância de ponto) whereby Monday or Friday is declared a non-working public holiday whenever an annual public holiday falls on a Tuesday or Thursday (to be compensated from civil servants' annual vacation leave) as well as stipulating that annual non-working public holidays are to be specified by the Governor of Macau (hence the present decree).

Currently, the annual non-working public holidays in Macau are governed by the Decreto-Lei n.º 4/82/M of 1982, as amended in 1987 (Decreto-Lei n.º 38/87/M) and in 1993 (Decreto-Lei n.º 15/93/M).

However, recall that as per the April 1987, Macau Pact, Portugal agreed to hand over sovereignty of Macau to the People's Republic of China in December 1999.

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Macau Decrees Annual Public Holidays List" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.