homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesqatar > this page

Qatar Revamps Public Holidays Listing

Source: Amiri Diwan (Doha)
Posted: Wednesday, February 6, 2008
Most recent follow-up news item: December 15, 2021

The Chairman of the Qatar's Cabinet of Ministers, Hamad bin Jassim bin Jabr Al Thani, has signed an official cabinet decision which lists anew which dates are public holidays in Qatar, and how many days each public holidays is to last.

The decision, officially titled "Decision of the Cabinet of Ministers No. (6) of 2008, Setting the Official Holidays in the State and Organizing Work thereon", lists 3 official public holidays in Qatar: Eid ul-Fitr (End of Ramadan), Eid ul-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice), and National Day.

As such, the aforementioned decision confirms last year's cancellation of September 3 as an annual public holiday in Qatar (2007-08-22).

Qatar banks are to observe an additional annual bank holiday on January 1st.

The cabinet decision also clarifies what occurs if an official public holiday, or weekly holiday, falls within the official Eid holidays, and if only one day separates two official public holidays.

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Qatar Revamps Public Holidays Listing" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.