homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesswitzerland > this page

Switzerland Adds Labour Day Public Holiday In Neuchatel Canton

Source: Le Matin (Lausanne)
Posted: Thursday, March 26, 2009
Updated: Friday, October 26, 2012

Switzerland's State Council has decided that, starting in 2010, the Canton of Neuchâtel would observe the May 1st, Labour Day public holiday, currently observed by 9 of Switzerland's 26 Cantons.

The law making May 1st a public holiday in the Canton of Neuchâtel was voted in January, by the Grand Conseil, but it was left to the Conseil d'Etat to decide its implementation details, most importantly, from which year it would take effect.

The Swiss Cantons currently observing May 1st as a public holiday are: Basel-City, Basel-Stadt, Fribourg, Jura, Schaffhausen, Solothurn, Thurgau, Tessin, and Zürich.

Over the years, there have been repeated attempts in the Zürich legislature to remove May 1st from the list of official public holidays for the Canton of Zürich (2009-01-28), while a parliamentary initiative to make May 1st a national public holiday was defeated in 2001 (2001-11-12).

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Switzerland Adds Labour Day Public Holiday In Neuchatel Canton" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.