homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesmalaysia > this page

Johor Bank Holidays Extended

Source: The Association Of Banks In Malaysia (Johor Baru)
Posted: Sunday, March 27, 2016

The Association Of Banks In Malaysia (Persatuan Bank Bank Dalam Malaysia) has announced that 17 of its member banks in the Malaysian State of Johor has decided to henceforth declare a day in lieu Monday bank holiday in Malaysia's State of Johor, whenever a non-working public holiday in Malaysia falls on a Sunday.

Recall that, 3 years ago (2013-11-23), Malaysia's State of Johor joined the Malaysian states of Kedah, Kelantan, and Terengganu in observing Friday/Saturday weekends, and Sundays as regular working days.

As per the aforementioned announcement, "This will bring Johor in line with the prevailing practice in Kedah, Perlis, Penang, Perak, Pahang, Selangor, Malacca, WP Kuala Lumpur, WP Putrajaya, Sabah and Sarawak where banks also observe Saturday and Sunday as rest days." and the announcement goes on to state that "The Johor State Secretary Office has been duly informed of the additional day of bank closure".

The announcement closes by listing the 2016 additional bank holidays to be observed in the Malaysian state of Johor: May 2, October 3, November 7, and December 26.

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Johor Bank Holidays Extended" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.