homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesmauritius > this page

Mauritius 2017 Public Holidays Announced

Source: Prime Minister's Office (Port-Louis)
Posted: Saturday, May 21, 2016
Most recent follow-up news item: June 18, 2021

The Cabinet of the Government of Mauritius has released its official annual list of the non-working public holidays in Mauritius for the upcoming calendar year 2017.

Last year (2015-06-14), after many years (2014-07-26, 2013-06-14, 2012-06-02 and 2011-09-14), when no new annual non-working public holidays were declared in Mauritius, the list of annual non-working public holidays in Mauritius for 2016 included a non-working public holiday for the Tamizh Puttaandu (Varusha Pirappu or Tamil New Year), though no non-working public holiday was declared in 2016 in Mauritius for Thaipoosam Cavadee.

It now seems that the Tamizh Puttaandu public holiday of Mauritius will alternate every year with Thaipoosam Cavadee, as was already the case for the Assumption and All Saints annual non-working public holidays of Mauritius.

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Mauritius 2017 Public Holidays Announced" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.