homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesindia > this page

Ladakh 2021 Public Holidays Announced

Source: Administration of Union Territory of Ladakh (Leh)
Posted: Thursday, December 31, 2020
Most recent follow-up news item: August 18, 2021

The Commissioner of the Administration of Union Territory of Ladakh has released the Government Order No.135-LA(GAD) of 2020, signed by Sonam Chhosdon, Under Secretary in the General Administration Department, which list of the days which will be non-working public holidays in Ladakh for the current calendar year 2021 ("List of holidays for the calendar year-2021.").

As usual (2020-03-20), the aforementioned Union Territory of Ladakh General Administration Department Government Order No.135-LA(GAD) of 2020 contains 4 Annexures ("The holidays listed in Annexure-A and C to this order shall be observed in the Government offices and educational institutions of the Union territory of Ladakh, during the calendar year 2021. In addition to the list of public holidays at Annexure A each employee will be allowed to avail any two holidays to be chosen by him/her out of the list of restricted holidays at Annexure C. In respect of Banks, the holidays shall be regulated in terms of the extant instructions issued under Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881 at Annexure D.").

Annexures A ("Public Holidays to be observed throughout the UT Ladakh during the Calendar Year 2021") and C ("Restricted Holidays for Union Territory of Ladakh.") contain the list of government holidays to be observed throughout the Union Territory of Ladakh, while Annexure B ("Local Holidays for Union Territory of Ladakh") lists 4 regional public holidays observed at the district level.

Each of these 4 Annexures features the mention that "All the Muslim Holiday are subject to change depending on appearance of moon.".

Recall that, on October 31, 2019, the State of Jammu and Kashmir was split into 2, as the new Union Territory of Ladakh was carved out of Jammu and Kashmir, in a manner similar to the creation of Telangana as the 29th state of India on June 2, 2014, having itself been carved-out the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh (2015-05-31). The remaining part of Jammu and Kashmir was then changed in status from a state to the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir.

The list of 2020 public holidays in the Union Territory of Ladakh looked a lot like those of previous years for the State of Jammu and Kashmir. However, for 2021, the list of government holidays was pared down to 15, with most of the secondary Muslim events being moved to the list of Restricted Holidays.

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Ladakh 2021 Public Holidays Announced" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.