homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatespakistan > this page

Pakistan's Sindh Province Announces 2007 Public Holidays

Source: The News
Posted: Thursday, January 11, 2007


The Labour, Transport, Industries and Commerce departments, Government of Sindh (one of the four provinces of Pakistan, where Karachi is), has notified the list of holidays to be observed by Muslims and minority communities as festival public holidays in 2007 by workers under Factories Act 1934.

Muslims: Eid-ul-Azha, Monday and Tuesday, January 1 and 2; Ashura, 9th to 10th Muharram, Saturday and Sunday, January 27 and 28; Kashmir Day, Monday February 5; Pakistan Day, Monday 23; Eid-e-Milad-un-Nabi (PBUH) (12th Rabi-ul-Awwal 1428), Saturday, March 31; Labour Day, Tuesday, May 1; Independence Day, Tuesday; August 14, Eid-ul-Fitr, Thursday, Friday and Saturday, October 11 to 13; Iqbal Day, Friday, Nov 9; Eid-ul-Azha, Tuesday and Wednesday, Dec 18 and 19, and Quaid-e-Azam Day/Christmas, Tuesday, December 25.

The workers of minority communities will observe the following days as festival holidays:
Buddhists: Bhudda Purinama on Wednesday, May 2.
Sikhs: Guru Nanak's Birthday on Saturday, November 24.



Links and References


Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Pakistan's Sindh Province Announces 2007 Public Holidays" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.