homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesaustralia > this page

Status Report On Australia's Melbourne Cup Public Holiday

Source: The Canberra Times
Posted: Monday, November 5, 2007
Updated: Friday, November 2, 2012

Tomorrow, for the first time, the Melbourne Cup public holiday will be celebrated in 2 of Australia's states; Victoria (with capital Melbourne) and the ACT (Australian Capital Territory).

The public holiday was declared by the ACT Government after the traditional Union Picnic Day was axed under the previous federal government's WorkChoices laws (2007-07-30 and 2007-04-05).

While this public holiday is a Victoria fixture, its future in the ACT is by no means certain.

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Status Report On Australia's Melbourne Cup Public Holiday" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.