homeworldwide public holidaysnews and updatesaustralia > this page

Australia Extends 5-day Easter Public Holidays

Source: Queensland Department of Justice and Attorney-General (Brisbane)
Posted: Thursday, October 28, 2010
Updated: Sunday, November 7, 2010

The Attorney-General and Minister for Industrial Relations for Australia's state of Queensland, Cameron Dick, has approved a substituted public holiday for Easter Monday on Tuesday, April 26, 2011.

The aforementioned announcement brings the Australian state of Queensland in line with last year's CAF agreement (Council for the Australian Federation) to harmonize the treatment of the ANZAC Day public holiday, across all Australian states and territories, when ANZAC Day falls on a Sunday, or on Easter Monday (2009-01-15).

The ACT (2010-07-14), Western Australia (2010-07-01) Southern Australia (2010-07-08), the Northern Territory (2010-08-31) and New South Wales (2010-10-13) have also declared April 26, 2011, as a public holiday.

Even Tasmania, where the original legislation (2009-04-18) was initially rejected by Tasmania's Legislative Council in October of last year (2009-10-18), now seems likely to also declare Tuesday, April 26, 2011, as a non-working public holiday (2010-10-19).

Links and References

Below are links to the news stories referred to in the above "Australia Extends 5-day Easter Public Holidays" news story, as well as links to subsequents news stories which refer to the present news story.